Book Club for Winos

I’ve found it surprisingly difficult to find a good, easy-to-ready blog about books –  specifically books that match the interests of my wine-motivated book club. I’m sure they’re out there, I just haven’t had the time or patience to look hard enough. If I had that extra time on my hands, I would love to devote my own blog to the compelling dynamics of our club, and the books we choose to devour (and by devour I mean read passionately, not read at all, read a little, skim and/or just give up and watch the movie…).

But, lo and behold…there aren’t enough hours in my day. So that time-consuming pipe dream will now be a recurring post on my blog. After all, what we choose to read – and whom we spend our nights drinking wine and chatting for hours with – really is a transparent piece of our own Living Rooms.

Now, to reword an annoyingly overused (and overly paraphrased) tagline, “What happens at book club, stays at book club.” Don’t get me wrong…us girls don’t do anything crazy. But we definitely get chatty (like I said, it’s a wine-motivated book club). And since the girls in the club aren’t sitting around writing blogs about me, I don’t think I should be writing about them.

I do, however, love a good book review. And I figured you might like one too. We try our best to read a book a month. But being a mix of hard-working teachers, sales-reps, writers, bartenders, wives, mothers and mothers-to-be, that doesn’t always happen.

So here are my thoughts – with a touch of my recollected feedback from my book club companions – about what we have read in the past 6 or so months…

1. Eat, Pray, Love

If you’re still in Italy, put  down the book and go to the theater…it doesn’t get any better. I likened the book to grabbing a drink with an old friend you haven’t seen in a while, and spending the entire night listening to her pout about how hard it was to spend three months eating great food, seeing beautiful places and meeting new men…and as she rambled away, all that my cynical mind could think was, “really you got divorced and when all your money ended up with your lawyers, you came up with a clever marketing scheme to get rich, and see the world. This pinot better be on you.”

Now, I have heard a lot of people say they liked it. And I did like the idea of the book. But, I feel like it lacked depth. I can see how the movie would be much, much better (a rarity), as so much is based on the beauty of these three cultures (Italy, India and Indonesia). And of course, it’s been a while since we’ve gotten to see Julia Roberts shine her pearly whites.

The book wasn’t for me. The overall response from book club — “eh.”

 

  2. The Glass Castle

 

Now this is a memoir worth reading!  I so, so, sooo loved this book! My favorite book-club choice by far.

Just imagine the most self-absorbed, nonsensical, outrageous couple you know…and give them 4 children. The world these kids were brought up in is almost too outrageous to believe, but that’s what makes the story so spectacular. Seriously, you couldn’t make this stuff up. It not only dips deep into your imagination, but makes you stop and think about nature vs. nurture along with what goes on among some aspect of our nation’s homeless population (I’m not in any way saying that all those in poverty live this way).  The book is written by one of the 4 kids in the family, and I thought she was brilliant.

I highly recommend this read. The overall response from book club — “wow.”*

*…”wow” is from what  I recall. One or two might have thought it was just, “okay.”

 

3. The Help

Interesting premise. Kept my attention. It wasn’t the greatest book I’ve ever read, but everyone else in book club really, really enjoyed it.

Set in the 60’s, it’s a very clever story told from three points of view — one, a wealthy, white southern girl; the other two, the hired “help.” It definitely felt inspirational, and had some great historical relevance that helps people from my generation get a glimpse about how much our parents and grandparents have seen and overcome. The dialect was a little tricky for me at first, and I felt like some of the parts were just left hanging, but I still think it’s worth the read. I can see my own children having to read this for a literature class some day.

I say check it out. The overall response from book club — “a must read!”

 

4. The Other Boleyn Girl

Deception, romance, royalty…I was so engrossed in this book.

I’ve never really known much about this family, so, to me, this book was an absolute page-turner.  However, since a lot of the girls in my book club had either watched The Tudors or seen The Other Boleyn Girl movie, they found the book to be long and slow. So if you know what happens, it’s probably not worth picking up. But, if you’re like me, and this is all new to you, definitely read it.

I say if you’re curious, read it. The overall response from book club — “we knew what happened.”

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Have you read any of these books and agree/disagree? Let me know! I’d love to hear your thoughts!

 Have any ideas on what we should read next? We’re always looking for something new, so let me know if you have any suggestions!

Our next book club is around the corner. We read The Beach House by Mary Alice Monroe. I thought it was fantastic, but I’ll wait till I’m with the girls to give a review.

Happy reading!

– Emily

1 Comment

Filed under book club for winos, this 'n that

One response to “Book Club for Winos

  1. Just as you said, I am still in Italy, and I went and saw the movie last Friday. Absolutely loved the movie! I am still working my way through the book, thank goodness for short chapters! I am sure I will finish it, but it is not one of those all nighters, for sure! I wrote a couple of posts about the book/movie:
    http://bernicewood.wordpress.com/2010/08/13/the-topic-of-depression-from-eat-pray-love/
    http://bernicewood.wordpress.com/2010/08/14/i-cried-my-way-through-eat-pray-love-last-night/

    I have not read any of the others, but might pick up the Glass Castle in the future!

Leave a Reply

