Grilled Pizza, Take 16

Last summer, Lucas and I received a very cool pizza stone from Williams-Sonoma. It was one of those items on our registry that I figured no one would actually buy, but if we happened to be so lucky, my excitement would bubble up beyond every deliciously grilled, beautifully presented pie I would create.


Unfortunately, the results of my pizza-grilling weren’t quite as pretty as the package it came in. The very first one I made more closely resembled a bowl of beat-up spaghetti than the symmetrical pizza I had in mind (I remember Lucas took a picture of it, but much to my dismay, I now can’t find it. It was, in fact, the first meal I made for him as his wife :).

I tried a few more times last summer…each one slightly better than the last (I soon learned corn meal is key to keeping the dough from sticking). But, alas, none were really worth bragging about. So I retired my beautiful pizza stone to the basement shelf, amongst the many other wedding gifts suited for “special occasion” use, and we stuck with ordering in.

Until this weekend. Something hit me and once again, I had the urge to give that pizza stone the old college try. I pulled out my collection of “someday I’ll have to try it” recipes and found one from Cooking Light called Grilled Bacon, Onion and Mushroom Pizza. Perfect! Sounded like a no-fail situation…cause everything’s better with bacon, right?

Other than the bacon, one thing I liked about this recipe was that it called for refrigerated french bread, unlike all the others that used refrigerated pizza dough. That sounded delicious. Then, of course, the bacon. And mushrooms and onions…two of my favorite veggies.

It also included shredded white cheddar cheese, and since I think Boar’s Head offers the greatest meats and cheeses ever, I ordered a few freshly sliced slices from the deli counter and crumbled them up on my own.

The only thing it seemed to be missing (especially when you’re married to a guy who is literally addicted to ketchup and marinara) was pizza sauce. So I went ahead and added the little we had in the fridge.

Now it was time to fire up that grill!

The hardest part of grilling my pizza has always seemed to be the transfer of the pizza onto the stone. The pizza peel (shown above) made the process a billion times easier, and also kinda made me feel like a fancy pizza-making lady. :)

About 15 minutes passed (and I must say, they smelled wonderful)….

Annnd…presto! My pizza was complete.

This time it was definitely better than anything I conjured up last year. Just look at that sliver of bacon sliding off the edge, waiting to be savored. It was definitely a good one, though I still think a few more tries will only make it better. Lucas had some, and his only complaint was “not enough sauce. ” (told you).  Next time, I’ll find a pizza that is meant to include the red sauce.

Here’s the recipe if you want to give it a try!

Bacon, Onion, and Mushroom Pizza

Ingredients

  • 1  (11-ounce) can refrigerated French bread dough
  • 2  teaspoons  yellow cornmeal
  • 2  teaspoons  olive oil
  • 2  cups  vertically sliced onions (about 2 small)
  • 1  (8-ounce) package presliced cremini mushrooms
  • 1 1/2  cups  (6 ounces) shredded white cheddar cheese
  • 6  bacon slices, cooked and coarsely crumbled
  • 1/2  cup  finely chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley

Preparation

1. Find lengthwise seam in dough. Beginning at seam, gently unroll dough into a rectangle on a lightly floured surface. Stretch dough into a 12-inch circle on a lightly floured surface; transfer to a round pizza pan or large baking sheet sprinkled with cornmeal.

2. Preheat oven to 425°.

3. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add olive oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add onion; sauté 8 minutes, stirring occasionally. Place chopped onion in a bowl. Add cremini mushrooms to pan; sauté 8 minutes or until liquid almost evaporates. Add mushrooms to onion mixture; toss. Spread onion mixture evenly over prepared dough, leaving a 1/4-inch border. Sprinkle evenly with white cheddar cheese and bacon. Bake at 425° for 15 minutes or until crust is lightly browned. Sprinkle with parsley. Cut into 12 wedges.

Leave a comment

Filed under from the kitchen

Leave a Reply

