Book Club for Winos (and Pregos) — Little Bee

Yep, 50% of last night’s book club representation was pregnant. So, the wino aspect isn’t quite so merlot right now. We still had a good time catching up, and though much of the conversation was centered around neausa, heartburn and baby bumpers, we still managed a teensy, tiny bit of talk around the book, Little Bee.

What surprised me most about this book is that it wasn’t nearly as surprising as I had expected. After reading multiple reviews exclaiming, “we’d tell you what it’s about, but then this shocking story would be given away before you even opened the book,” I had this crazy idea in my head that the inside held this ungodly secret that would be slowly revealed until reaching the final page, 288.

That said, I feel like I can give you a little glimpse without giving it all away.

It’s a political book told through two different points of view – that of a Nigerian refugee, and that of the British woman whose life she enters. The book is inspired by the immigration struggles of those with nothing, alongside the personal struggles of those who seem to have it all. I must also add that there was another ongoing storyline – oil is a demon, and the sooner our world can live without it, the closer we will be to living in peace (while not a new theory, this book brought it down to a personal, human level as opposed to a far-away, war-driven place).

If you enjoy reading about politics and social injustice, this is a great book. If you like things that are a little more lighthearted, don’t feel like you missed out on the big “secret.”

I say, it’s an intriguing book that’s worth reading for something different. My wine-drinking/child-bearing friends say, “good book, not a fan of the ending.”

:::::A BOOK ON THE SIDE:::::

I somehow managed to fit two books into my life this past month. Based on  recommendations by many of my dog-crazy friends, I also read The Art of Racing In The Rain.

So, here’s another book for anyone who’s ever loved a dog. It was sweet, sincere, unique and readable. The narrator is actually the dog, which puts a clever spin on the storyline. (I’m pretty sure I’m not alone in wondering what my dogs would say if one day they opened their mouths and real words started coming out)…

Tito: Hello, Mom. Good morning. Can we please stop by your parent’s home today so I could show our nieces and nephews how truly spectacular I am at catching tennis balls with my mouth? Oh, and it wouldn’t hurt to leave Frankie there for a day or two now would it?

Frankie: Yipeeee! Did you say “Grammy?!?” I wanna go! I wanna go! And then I can lick her, and jump on her lap, and maybe even sneak into the kitty room and grab a few bites of cat food before she sees me. Yaaaayyy! I loooove you Titooooo!!

Anyway…back to the book:

It doesn’t provoke the stream of tears that Marley and Me did. And though it does have a few National Geographic references here and there, it doesn’t have nearly the thought-out, breathtaking, wolf-to-dog depth that Merle’s Door had. But, still, if it’s been a while since you’ve done your dog the duty of devoting your reading time to everything canine, sit beside your pup and open up the book.

And if you’re only going to read one, read Merle’s Door. It’s awesome.
And it made me cry. And love my dogs. Even more.

Leave a comment

Filed under book club, book club for winos

Leave a Reply

