I’ll Miss You Most.

The new house will be ours in almost a week. And while I’m soooo ready to move in, there are 3 things in particular that I’m going to miss so much from our current abode.

1. Our Gorgeous Stone Fireplace

I have to admit, when I first moved in I was a little disappointed that it wasn’t brick (like the traditional one I grew up with). But the more I cozied up beside it, the more I loved it. It’s so unique. So grand. So impactful. It’s the first thing you see when you walk in, and the last thing you see as you go. (And when we received a flat-screen as a wedding gift, it became the center of my most lived-in room of the house.) Sure, our new house has a fireplace, and some charming built-in bookshelves around it. But this is one-of-a-kind, and something that makes the home complete.

2. The Giant Picture Window (complete with dog ledge/look-out point)

Any real dog owner knows that there’s no better feeling than coming home from a long day at work (or even a relaxing beach vacation), and looking up to see man’s best friend, ears-perked, tail up, ready to greet you. Our current house has a huge window, with a ledge, that has become Tito and Frankie’s favorite resting place (honestly, I don’t know how I’m going to break it to them that the new house is without one.)


It’s the perfect place for them to protect us from the world outside…aka neighbors walking their beagles…and for us to get some toasty sun on a cold winter day. Sure, the neighbor’s tree flew across the street in the midst of a treacherous storm last spring and shattered it to pieces, but that’s the price you pay for having the greatest welcome-window a pup could ever ask for.

3. The Deck 

Our new home has a very nice patio (or so we’ve heard, it’s been covered in leaves every time we’ve been there). But there’s something about a deck that says, “gather ’round and enjoy yourself.” We’ve had so many memories on this deck. From three years of Halloween parties, to birthdays, to the infamous tiki bar delivery, to those simple, random nights when we made a fire,turned on George Strait, poured some wine, and rambled the night away. Ahh. I’ll miss that wonderful deck. I really think it was the reason I bought this house in the first place. But what I really love, is the couple who’s moving in is going to love it just as much as we did. I just know it. :)

Moving is definitely bittersweet. We’re leaving the house where I took in 3 new pets (Miso was here all along), learned to grow vegetables, watched Lucas grow a pumpkin patch, hosted many parties, got to know my husband,  got engaged (and where Frankie ate Lucas’ ring 3 months after we were married), and so much more. But the new one is going to be full of so many memories. I wasn’t even in this house for 4 years, and I loved it. And if all goes as planned, the new home is the place where memories will grow for the next 40.

I can’t wait to move in. And for these next 10 days to be done. It’s going to be so great to start from scratch. And to have a house that we can build together, from here on out. :)

Leave a comment

Filed under happiness, life with fur, the great indoors, this 'n that

Leave a Reply

