2012 at a Glance

So, turns out 2012 was not the year I took on a professional blogging career. Not that it was ever really a goal (okay, maybe in far away dreams when there are 38 hours in every day and I no longer have that natural need for sleep). I do wish I had kept up a little bit more, but my lack of dedication to this page was well overshadowed by the other things in my life:

1. Watching my favorite little man grow into a walking, talking, adorable toddler. I can’t believe what a difference a year makes. It’s been so, so fun. I can’t wait to see him grow more and more. And see him as a big brother!

ChristmasCrd2012

Our 2012 Christmas Card. The words say it all.

2. Yep, big brother is right! Baby boy #2 is due this spring, May 4th to be exact. Life with two is a little terrifying to think about, especially two within 19 months of each other, but we’re up for the challenge. In fact, we can’t wait. Oh, and any name ideas are more than welcome. Seriously. We’re struggling.

167406_10151300874769916_1486499441_n

Lucas’ work Christmas Party. I have no idea how he got his stomach out that far, but it’s pretty impressive.

3. Some house stuff, though nothing compared to 2011. When I look back at 2011, I can’t believe everything we accomplished on our new-to-us home. We bought that sucker as-is and dove headfirst into an insane amount of work – stuff I swore I’d blog before and afters of. Yeah, it hasn’t happened. Maybe one day it will . That being said, it was nice to not have the stress of “must get done work” this year and focus on more basic things like painting the shutters from green to black and finding the right living room rug. And if it weren’t for that 1st trimester exhaustion + toddler that hit me like a rock this fall, I swear I would have done so much more.

4. It’s hard to do housework when you’re busy doing work, work. I don’t really like to blog about my job, but there was one project in particular that really reminded me how fortunate I am to have it. It was an annual contest held by Purina® Pro Plan® Rally to Rescue®, where rescue groups within the program submit their stories, four finalists are chosen, then videos are made for the public to watch and vote on. For me, this meant about 3 weeks of traveling to 4 cities across the country – Phoenix, Sacramento, Charlotte and Door County – listening to rescuers and adopters tell stories of how their rescued pets are now doing great things. I swear I was touched by each and every person we met along the way. And their pets. With all of the bad things that seem to happen in our country, it’s so wonderful to be welcomed by 4 groups of total strangers, and feel connected with and inspired by them in just two days. And all the more reason I believe that if everyone in this world had a dog or a cat (or both) in their home, it would be happier, more selfless place.

Pudding5

Pudding, this year’s contest winner. He saved his owner’s life the night she brought him home. Pretty amazing. The story was shot in Door County, Wisconsin at a little neighborhood flower shop. I kind of wanted to move there, or at least find a vacation home.

5. All the rest.  We’ve also been busy doing what we do. Lucas and I did manage to sneak in a trip to Mexico in February when Marco was 5 months old. It was so needed (though I think we could use one more than ever right now). I think we attempted one camping trip together, which didn’t even last an entire night due to a horrible thunderstorm. We spent a few weekends at the lake (both Table Rock and Ozarks). We made it out to the wineries a couple of times. Lucas grew another giant pumpkin, while being challenged by a horrible drought. We went out, hung out with family and friends, all the stuff that keeps you going. And, I’m sure there’s a lot more, but it’s all kind of a blur. We’re very blessed to have all we have!

525824_10150945779689916_1600702388_n

Annual lake trip with our friends, this year at Table Rock.

I’m not big on resolutions, but I do hope to blog maybe once a week. Along with getting more done with the house, getting back in shape after baby #2 comes (I am the only child in my family who has yet to run a 1/2 marathon), taking a much-needed vacation…and the list goes on.

73658_10151317812274916_1144624712_n

Marco watching the fireworks this week. Since the drought caused everyone to cancel the 4th of July shows this year, Kirkwood saved theirs for the New Year.

Happy New Year! Be safe and cheers to a wonderful 2013!!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under around town, baby, baby P, this 'n that, travels

Leave a Reply

