Subway Decoupage

Lately, I’ve been drawn to the art of subway signs (as you can see in this recent post). Feeling inspired by the excess of Christmas music on the radio, I thought I would try one for myself.


After discovering the easy craft of decoupage, I decided to use it as the medium for my holly jolly Christmas sign. And with little browsing online, I learned all that I needed was some craft glue.

And a sponge brush.

I was able to create the sign itself in Microsoft Word.

I used some cheap plywood as my base (since this was my first attempt at decoupage, I wanted to keep it simple and inexpensive). Then used the sponge brush to apply one layer of glue directly to the wood. Once the glue was on, I laid out my printed art, and smoothed it out to get rid of all air bubbles. I then applied another coat to the top of the art to give it a finished look, and let it dry.

And that was it! Unfortunately, the rest of my Christmas decor is in boxes, on the verge of being moved to the new house, so this was the extent of my holiday vignette. In the non-moving world, I could imagine this as a nice complement to a pretty mantle display, or hanging cheerfully on a wall near the tree.

And being my first time at decoupage, this is still a work in progress. I have high hopes of fully mastering the art of decoupage as soon as we’re all moved in. ;D

To see even more crafty holiday ideas, visit the Holiday link party on Censtational Girl’s, Momnivore’s Dilemma and DIY Showoff!

 

     

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

P.S. Very happy birthday to my husband…being the mature adult he is, he convinced me to let him open his present a day early. I couldn’t help but oblige, as I was so excited to see the finished product. I ordered it from etsy (the shop, Carved in Stone, is actually located in Springfield, Missouri — yay, local!) It turned out sooo beautifully. It’s in honor of his pumpkin patch-in-planning at our new home! Oh, and it weighs like 50 lbs. Quality stuff!

9 thoughts on “Subway Decoupage

  1. OOh, I like it. I have been seeing lots of subway art around the web lately too. I saw a cute one today, where they took the subway art words and then umm squeezed it or whatever into the shape of an xmas tree in photoshop. That was truly super cool; I wish I knew how to do that.

  2. Ok! I LOVE your sign!! But I’m a total novice and a little confused as to how to do this in Microsoft word. Do you print out on colored paper? How are the letters white?

Leave a comment